Quick Links

Quick Links


Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


Early Years Curriculum

Welcome to the Early Years Curriculum Page


The early years curriculum supports children's development from birth until the end of Reception. At Brookhouse Primary School we support the learning of children from the age of 2. We have revised and adapted the early years curriculum to meet the needs of the children at Brookhouse, with a key focus on providing a language rich curriculum by teaching through rhymes and stories. The curriculum overview and supporting documents can be found by clicking on the stars. Further information about the early years curriculum can be found further down this page.

The early years curriculum is based on the following four important principles.


A unique child

Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.

Staff at Brookhouse understand children are unique. They encourage and develop skills and talents and nurture and support children with their development.


Positive relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

At Brookhouse children are provide with transition arrangements tailored to each child's needs to ensure positive relationships are formed. Staff and families work together to best meet the needs of each child.


Enabling environments

Children learn well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/carers.

At Brookhouse we provide an environment which supports their learning and development and is linked to their needs. We aim to provide children with a wide range of first hand experiences that support their learning.


Learning and development

Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years settings, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

At Brookhouse we have high expectations of all our children, but understand children learn and develop at different rates and in different ways. Children's attainment is carefully tracked and monitored so provision and planning can be tailored to meet the differing needs of the children in order for them to all achieve.


7 Areas of Learning

The early years curriculum is divided into 7 areas of learning.


Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language Development

Physical Development


Specific Areas


Mathematical Development

Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


It is expected that children achieve the Early Learning Goal for each area of learning by the end of the Reception year.

Early Years Rationale